A small win for the PhD!

I had a small win this afternoon!

I’m back on Lizard Island at the moment and over the last few days I’ve been setting up an experiment.

??????????????????????????

This experiment is to try to determine what factors might influence a subordinate individual’s decision to either stay within a group or to move out. I am testing habitat size and habitat saturation. To test these factors I have created groups of three fish (two adults and a subordinate) in medium sized corals. These groups of three are then presented with either a small, medium or large coral containing either 0, 1, 2 or 3 other fish.

Wow! that’s confusing when I write it all out. Here’s a diagram of my experimental design.

Experimental design

Over the last 48 hours Kaz and I have had the first trial running. In trial 1 the group of three fish were presented with an empty coral which was smaller in size. Last night the subordinate actually moved into this smaller coral. I can’t really draw any conclusions from this one trial, but if we keep seeing this happen, it could indicate that the degree of habitat saturation is more critical than the size of the habitat in determining whether a subordinate will stay or leave a group. In terms of group formation, it could indicate that groups are more likely to form when the habitat is highly saturated (i.e. when there are not many vacant corals). That’s exciting for me and my thesis 🙂

More info on my research

My research

Initial project report

Lizard Log series starting here

Lizard pics

Fish tattooing

Fish tattooing

Capturing the fishies

Capturing the fishies

Goby hunting.

Goby hunting.

Kaz shopping for corals

Kaz shopping for corals

Kaz measuring

Kaz measuring

It's not paradise every day...

It’s not paradise every day…

One comment

Leave a Reply

